Affirmations: The Unharnessed Power of Words

Standard
Affirmations: The Unharnessed Power of Words

Words, words, words. We speak thousands of words a day but how much consciousness actually goes into those words? And how many of those thousands are really serving us? Do you often find yourself saying things like “I feel awful”, “this sucks”, “this is too hard!” Or some people’s personal favorite: “life is a bitch!” (Oh yeah, I went there). I’m not pointing a finger though, I’m right there with you. When life gets challenging I break out my DAG (Doom and Gloom) vocabulary.

Sometimes I get carried away with those DAG words while venting to a girlfriend or replaying unwanted scenarios in my head. I will fool myself into thinking that those words are necessary… I’m doing it to release, I’m doing it to heal…In reality the more I think about or say those DAG words the lower I feel. Lower is the key word here because what those words are doing is indeed lowering my vibrations/energy.

Here’s a quote from an article I highly recommend to help you understand the connection between frequency and energy.

“The difference between the manifestations of the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual result simply from different levels of vibrating energy, or frequencies. So, while the feelings of fear, grief and despair vibrate at a very low frequency, the feelings of love, joy and gratitude vibrate much quicker.”

If you’ve read my last post you know that this is a critical time for me. I’ve wasted too much time already, I’ve gotta get those DAG words out of my reality and overlay them with FIA (Frequency-Increasing Affirmations (I like to read this as “fiya”, my wannabe gangster way of saying “fire”). “An affirmation is a carefully formatted statement that should be repeated to one’s self and written down frequently. For an affirmation to be effective, it needs to be present tense, positive, personal and specific” (straight from Wikipedia yo.. ok I’ll tone down my inner gangster now). Affirmations work! I know because they helped me naturally (that mean’s no drugs!) birth an 8lb 2oz baby in 9 hours (I hope to share my full birth story some other time). I used Hypnobirthing – The Mongan Method and had the affirmations CD on repeat during my entire labor. Through every surge (contraction) I repeated and believed the affirmations that told me that my body and my baby knew exactly what to do… Great success! My other experience with affirmations come from listening to Deepak Chopra’s “The Soul of Healing Affirmations” CD. When I’m at my lowest I listen to all 26 tracks and repeat the affirmations to myself, they uplift me because I start believing it and the healing process manifests into reality.

I want to take it one step further though, truth of the matter is, I know myself better than Deepak. So while his words go down like a smooth glass of wine, they may be giving me a superficial temporary high. I want permanent, lasting change and I’m only going to find it within myself. The power of MY words will supersede anything I can find externally.

So after much thought and deliberation here are my
Frequency Increasing Affirmations:
Change is easy and effortless.
Every breath I take allows me to see the beauty in my life.
I love being in the present moment.
Forgiving myself comes instantly and naturally.
I seize every opportunity to practice mindfulness.
I center myself by taking a deep breath.
A simple smile improves my mood.
I find joy in being fully awake in the moment.
The longer I am in the moment, the easier it is to stay present.

This is my FIA for now, but this is an evolving list just like me. We are ever-changing and it’s important to reflect often and adapt as necessary. My course of action now is to expose myself to these FIA words as frequently as possible, this is what I want my truth to be, this is what I want to know beyond a shadow of a doubt. I will print them and place them around the house, I will read them out loud, say them in my head, sing them in the shower, talk about it over dinner, make it my screensaver… You get the point. I will make this change happen in my life and it will be glorious. Keep sticking around and some of my glory might rub off on you 😉

“The story you believe is the one you achieve” -Unknown Author

Think about one thing within you that you would change if you had the power. Now think of a sentence that embodies what that change looks like once its taken place. Voila, you’re on FIA!!! (Will you share your FIA with me in the comments please?)

20130202-145328.jpg

Light & Love,
The Awakened Momma

3 responses »

  1. My go to affirmations seem to be “I release worries calmly and easily” and “every day in every way I am getting better and better”, and I also imagine events I’m worried about playing out in the best possible scenario. Just so my mind knows it is possible. Has helped me a lot.

    Really well written thoughtful post x

  2. Pingback: Terrible Twos Tantrum Throwdown | The Awakened Momma

Leave a Reply

